New Zealand Now Has A Majority Of Female Politicians In Its Parliament

New Zealand now has 60 women lawmakers and 59 men in Parliament after Soraya Peke-Mason was recently sworn in as an MP. It's the first time female politicians have tipped the balance in New Zealand. The country has a strong track record of female political empowerment. In 1893 it became the first country to give women the right to vote. Current CM Jacinda Arden is New Zealand’s third female leader and the first world leader to take maternity leave. Here’s more about the majority of female politicians in New Zealand’s parliament.